Meet the Locals: Birmingham Vintage Fair @ The Custard Factory

On Saturday 23rd November, Alice Cudmore wandered down to the Birmingham Vintage Fair, held in The Custard Factory, Digbeth, to meet and chat to some of the lovely stall-holders.

Name: Charlottevintage fair 1
Stall name: Lottie’s Lots
How did you get into vintage fairs?
“I realised a few years ago that I’d come out of Topshop and see five more people wearing everything that I’d just bought. I got bored of mainstream fashion and decided to go into vintage. It’s much more exciting and it offers loads more interesting, one-off pieces.”

What’s your favourite vintage era?
The ’50s

vintage fair 2Name: Paul
Stall name: Madame Cherry
How did you get into vintage fairs?
“It’s actually my wife who owns the stall, I just help her on weekends. She’s really crafty and arty, and wanted to find an outlet for her creativity. She started making jewellery and then did a few test fairs, before deciding to do this full time.”

Name: Annavintage fair 3
Stall name: Dolly Anna Does
How did you get into vintage fairs?
“I’m actually a fashion designer by trade, and this was another outlet for my work, and also great for getting ideas and networking in the fashion industry!”

Favourite vintage era?
The ’60s

vintage fair 4Name: Kyshia
Stall Name: Newell Accessories (“It’s a family name – I wanted to keep it close to home and it means if I have any children they can always take over one day!”)
How did you get into vintage fairs?
“This is actually my first one! I really liked the jewellery I was seeing around with the new vintage craze, and thought I could have a go myself!”

Favourite vintage era?
The 60’s – “It was so exciting! I was born in the ’80s but I wish I’d been around in the ’60s!”

vintage fair 5Name: Chloe
Stall name: Elsie and Fred
How did you get into vintage fairs?
“Well we actually have a shop in Coventry called Elsie and Fred (after two of our friends). We wanted to spread the word and get more people interested in vintage!”

Favourite vintage era?
The ’60s

by Alice Cudmore

Leave a Reply

